Cornea – External Disease & Refractive Surgery


Dr. M. McCarthy Clinical Professor and Division Head
Dr. P.J. Dubord, Clinical Professor
Dr. S. P. Holland, Clinical Professor
Dr. H. Khan, Clinical Associate Professor
Dr. D.T.C. Lin, Clinical Associate Professor
Dr. C. Nelson, Clinical Assistant Professor
Dr. M. Orr, Clinical Assistant Professor
Dr. J. Richards, Associate Professor Emeritus
Dr. D. F. Rollins, Clinical Professor
Dr. P. Saunders, Clinical Professor
Dr. S. Yeung, Assistant Professor
Dr. A. Iovieno, Clinical Associate Professor


The University of British Columbia Department of Ophthalmology cornea service and consists of Dr. Martin McCarthy (Division Head), Dr. Simon Holland, Dr. David Rollins,

Dr. Paul Dubord, Dr. Patrick Saunders and Dr. Sonia Yeung.. All are fellowship trained specialists in Cornea, External Disease, Refractive Surgery and Cataract Surgery. The corneal service provides clinical care to patients from the Lower Mainland and throughout the province of British Columbia.   The division provides over 20,000 office visits, 1500 corneal surgeries, 400 corneal transplants and 2500 cataract surgeries annually.

All members have administrative responsibilities at PHC, VGH and with the Department of Ophthalmology UBC. Dr. Sonia Yeung is the Medical Director of the Eye Bank of British Columbia.  The Eye Bank has been fully accredited by the Eye Bank Association of America for almost 20 years.  The EBBC is the only eye bank in Canada to precut tissue for Descemet’s stripping automated endothelial keratoplasty. Dr. Rollins is the head of cataract surgery at VGH and Dr. Holland is the fellowship training director and the director of the resident teaching clinic at Fort St. John.

Members of the corneal service are actively involved in clinical teaching of medical students, residents and fellows and provide continuing medical education to practicing general physicians, optometrists and ophthalmologists through UBC Grand Rounds and special CME events. Teaching responsibilities include 40 hours per week of resident supervision in the cornea clinics and 2-3 days per week of operating room teaching of cataract and anterior segment surgery. There are 20 hours a year of formal clinical corneal rounds. Dr. McCarthy , has provided didactic, clinical and operating room teaching to corneal specialists from across the province wanting to learn Descemet’s stripping automated endothelial keratoplasty. Dr. Holland coordinates the monthly cataract sessions for Grand Rounds.   All members of the corneal service have lectured at local, provincial, and national and international meetings including the Canadian Ophthalmology Society, the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery and the American Academy of Ophthalmology.

The division has an active clinical and basic science research program.  Dr. Holland is an international leader in understanding the causes of diffuse lamellar keratitis.  His expertise is sought out by surgical clinics all over the world.  He has published extensively and refractive surgery, most recently in the area of topography guided PRK for the management of keratoconus.  Dr. McCarthy has developed considerable experience in lens power calculations following laser refractive surgery.  Dr. Rollins has headed large epidemiologic studies on cataract surgery outcomes.

The corneal fellowship program is internationally recognized and has trained research and clinical fellows from around the world. The fellows receive a high volume of clinical and surgical training and a rich academic and research experience. Many have returned home to become clinical and academic leaders.

In addition to training fellows the division has a long-standing commitment to improve ophthalmology services in the developing world. Dr. Dubord has been a leader   in developing national and international standards for corneal transplantation and has been integral in starting eye banks   in India, Japan and other countries. Dr. Holland and McCarthy have provided surgical services and education to local ophthalmologists.  Dr. Holland has been a key member of ORBIS for almost 20 years.

The most up-to-date procedures have been introduced by all members of the department including Descemet’s stripping automated endothelial keratoplasty for endothelial dysfunction, deep anterior lamellar keratoplasty for anterior stromal scarring and keratoconus and corneal collagen cross-linking, intrastromal rings and topography guided laser to treat keratoconus. The division is in the process of introducing

femtosecond laser- IntraLase   enabled keratoplasty for corneal transplantation.


Holland SP,   Morck D.   Cataract Surgery Today:   The Best Cataract and Refractive IOL Articles from Cataract & Refractive Surgery Today:   Autoclave contamination and TASS .   (Chapter 107).   Wayne, PA:   Bryn Mawr Communications LLC 2009: 248-249.   ISBN: 978-0-615-2970303

Holland SP, Morck D, Chavez   G, Ohashi Y, Lee T, Agarwal’s Refractive Surgery Nightmares:   Conquering Refractive Surgery Catastrophes:   Toxic Anterior Segment Syndrome (Chapter 29). NJ: SLACK Incorporated; 2007:   307-313

Holland SP, Morck D, Chavez G, Ohashi Y.   Clinical Applications of Antibiotics and Anti-inflammatory Drugs in Ophthalmology:   Toxic Anterior Segment Syndrome.   New Delhi, India:   M/S Jaypee Brothers Medical Publisher Pvt. Ltd.   2007:   445-453.

Holland SP,   Morck DW, Mathias R, Lee TL, Chavez G, Ohashi YG.   (Canada).   Mastering the techniques of advanced phaco surgery:   Toxic Anterior Segment Syndrome:   Current Scenario

Holland SP,   Morck DW,   Lee TL.   Update on toxic anterior segment syndrome. Current Opinion in Ophthalmology.   2007Feb; 18 (1): 4-8.   Review.

Eye World Magazine 2007.   SP Holland.   Edited by J. E. “Jay” McDonald II. Treating Cataract in a highly myopic eye with a long axial length

Opinion and Commentary

ESCRS, Eurotimes Publications, June 2007.   Simon P. Holland,   Lillina Werner. “Amorphous anatomy of a toxic anterior segment syndrome outbreak” by Howard Larkin in Las Vegas

Luis Izquierdo Jr. MD, M. Med, Maria A Henriquez MD, Martin McCarthy MD. Artiflex Phakic Intraocular Lens Implantation after Corneal Collegan Crosslinking in a Keratoconic Eyes: In Press Journal of Refractive Surgery . 2010

Martin McCarthy, MD 1 , Gregory M. Gavanski 2 , BA, Katherine E. Paton 3 , MD, Simon P. Holland, MD 4. Intraocular Lens Power Calculations after Myopic Laser Refractive Surgery: A Comparison of Methods in 173 Eyes: In Press Ophthalmology . 2010